Is A Parenting Class Required In Order To Get Divorced In Nevada?
The state of Nevada recognizes the lasting impact divorce can have on children. Therefore, because the best interest of the child is a high priority for family courts, the state of Nevada has introduced classes to help parents aid their children through the transition. COPE is the mandatory class that the Nevada family court requires for any divorce that involves children. These classes are ordered by the court and aimed to assist parents with the necessary tools to help them lessen the stress and the impact of the divorce on the children.
The COPE class reinforces parenting tools such as:
- How to focus on the children’s needs
- How to avoid and reduce the children’s stress during and after the divorce
- How to co-parent after the divorce so that the children feel less of the impact of the divorce
COPE classes can either be attended in person or they can be attended online. They usually last between three to five hours and they cost about $40 to $45. They are offered in Spanish and in English, whichever you prefer.
Once the classes have been completed, you will receive a certificate of completion that must be filed with the court. Because COPE is a mandatory class in Clark County, in order for you to finalize your divorce, you must file the certificate of completion of the COPE class with the court. If you fail to do so, your divorce will not be finalized.
If you are contemplating divorce, contact an experienced family law attorney to help make the experience as smooth and stress-free as possible. To set up a consultation, contact our office at (702) 998-1188, firstname.lastname@example.org, or by scheduling a consultation online.
For more information regarding divorce, or other related topics, check out our Family Law Blog, podcast, or Family Law TV playlist on Youtube.