When Does Child Support End?
In Nevada, child support ends when:
- The child reaches the age of majority which is usually 18 years of age,
- Or at 19 years of age if the child is still in high school and expected to graduate at the age of 19.
The courts in some situations, may extend child support payments if the child reaches majority and has a mental and physical disability that must be taken care of and provided for by the parents. That would be one common scenario where child support could be extended longer than the age of 18 or 19 if the child is graduating high school, but other circumstances may arise in unique cases.
In Nevada, once the child reaches the majority age there’s nothing that a parent has to do to signify the end of child support. You do not need to file a motion with the court to state that the child has reached majority and therefore receive permission to stop making the payments, it just automatically stops at the time it was determined in family court.
If you have questions about receiving or modifying child support payments, do not hesitate to contact our office to discuss your situation further. To set up a consultation, call (702) 998-1188, email email@example.com, or schedule a consultation online.
For more information regarding child support, child custody, divorce, or other family law topics, check out our Family Law blog, podcast, or Family Law TV playlist on Youtube.